newbie here / many questions / setting up webstation ...

Hi,

I’m Dirk Renders from Belgium, I used to be a radio-guy, but now I work in an advertising agency.

I’m tinkering with the demoversion of mAirlist because a client (not a radiostation) of us asked to investigate setting up a webstation for him (for branding a new product).

As I have my roots in radio, I’m the guy they put on the project …

So I would have to install mAirlist on a server (in the cloud) and have it running playing songs and commercials every day, encoding it into a stream and pushing it over a Shoutcast server into cyberspace ! :slight_smile:

First of all, I noticed that there is a streaming encoder built in mAirlist, but I don’t see an “MP3Pro” encoder (to bring down the bandwith while preserving the quality), should I change something to use this ?

Furthermore I noticed that we can make playlists with Powergold or SPL … a few questions on that :

Should I use the M3u format and uploading the M3u files to the cloud server, so mAirlist can play them, or use the database ? what’s pro, what’s con ?

If I don’t use the database, how should I store the different cue points of the songs ?

What happens if there is a song in the playlist (M3u) and the song isn’t on the server (yet), will it stop, or will it move on to the next item in the playlist ?

Same with " empty containers" … ?

I ask about the “containers” because we need to schedule the commercials with a different scheduler, so what’s the best way to “merge” the Powergold musiclog with the “traffic” spotlog ? These containers ?

Should we merge them before uploading to the cloud server for playout, or can mAirlist handle this, so we upload the musiclogs and the spotlogs and mAirlist takes care of it ? (we would prefer this because they would be scheduled by different people, 1 for music, 1 for traffic)

can this be “last munite”, or does it need to be done before the playlist gets loaded into mAirlist for this hours playout ?