How to setup the integrated streaming encoder?

Hi all,

Being a complete noob at streaming I would like a little help setting up the integrated streaming encoder in mAirlist: I would like to be able to listen on other home devices to my own “radiostation”.

I have followed the instructions on the Wiki page to setup the encoder, I have pointed all players to the encoder, put lame.exe in the rigth directory and added the Encoder Status Screen Object to the main window. It now states 1/1 and 0 listeners and the VU-bar is showing activity.

Now I’m stuck: What IP address needs to be inserted? I’ve tried the same IP-address as the PC mAirlist is running on but I couldn’t point my audioplayer to this address. I have picked another (unused) IP-address and still can’t find the signal on another audioplayer. Obviously I’m missing out on something but I can’t pinpoint the problem.

Any suggestions would be grately appreciated!

Lukeman,

I suppose you mean desktop computers, laptops, tablets, mobile phones etc when you write “my other home devices”?.

I am afraid this is not gonna work over the Local Area Network, the way you are trying now. You will need an external stream provider which serves you a ShoutCast server (or Icecast, or Edcast). You need to enter the IP adres of this ShoutCast server. The integrated encoder in mAirList will sent your local broadcast to this Shoutcast server. Your home devices must be connected to the internet. Using a media player on your home devices, you will be able to tune in to your “radio station” and listen.

Try Google for “Free ShoutCast streaming”.

Thanks Adriaan! Much obliged.

Sorry, Adriaan, this is not true.

Lukeman is talking about the “Integrated streaming server”, and that is actually some sort of Shoutcast built into mAirList - not meant to connect external listeners, but fine for streaming inside a LAN.