eldoDB cannot connect to MySQL server?

Hi,

I’m a complete novice when it comes to databases, so I’m sure I’m missing something obvious, but maybe you can help me. I’ve installed eldoDB on my computer. I’ve also installed MySQL Server 5.1. It took me a while, but I have now a root account, a normal account and the server has been started.

In the eldoDB.ini file I entered:

[General] BaseDir=C:\Limewire Shared\ [Database] Driver=mysql Host=localhost User=rojan Password=***** Database=rojanuk [Excludes] Item0=neu\

(And obviously in the actual .ini the password is written full; I’ve blanked it for pasting here)

However, when starting Musikliste.exe I’m getting an error message:

SQL Error: Can't connect to MySQL server on 'localhost' (10061)

Does anybody have a clue why this is happening? What am I missing?

Thanks. :wink:

Probably, the server is not configured to accept TCP/IP network connections. Even if running on the same machine, mAirList and Musikliste still use TCP/IP to connect to the server. It’s usually achieved by commenting out the “bind_address” option in the MySQL configuration file. There might also be an option for this in the configuration GUI of your MySQL distribution, in case there is one (it’s been a long time since I last used MySQL on Windows).

You also have to set the password manually with OLD_PASSWORD, because mAirList still uses the 3.23 version of the DLL. It’s explained in the MySQL documentation.

[quote=“Torben, post:2, topic:5208”]Probably, the server is not configured to accept TCP/IP network connections. Even if running on the same machine, mAirList and Musikliste still use TCP/IP to connect to the server. It’s usually achieved by commenting out the “bind_address” option in the MySQL configuration file. There might also be an option for this in the configuration GUI of your MySQL distribution, in case there is one (it’s been a long time since I last used MySQL on Windows).