Keyboard access to mAirList 3.x and 4.x

Hi, I am a developer in University of Southampton. I am currently trying to develop a programme to help blind users to use mAirList. As blind users can only access the application via keyboard, we need short-cut-keys to access the buttons or use tab key to go through the components on the screen. However, it seems to me that the menu buttons, such as New, Open, Save Insert, Events, etc, are not focusable by keyboard. You can only click the button using a mouse. In addition, there are many clickable images and text, such as ASSIST, AUTO and the control “buttons” in each Cart Player. These images and text are only clickable by mouse and some of them are not always visible in the screen.

I have noticed that there are some short-cut-keys for the menu, like Ctrl-O for the Open button in the menu. But still many functions are not accessible through keyboard. Is there any support in the current system for the keyboard access? Do you plan to add these features in the future? Many thanks.

You need to open mAirList Config and look at Remote Control, Hotkeys.

This allows you to map any keyboard key (including shift, ctrl, shift-ctrl variants, etc.) to a very large number of mAirList functions/Commands (all of which are described in Appendix A of the mAirList manual).

Also, Torben has developed specifically blind-friendly versions of mAirList in the past.

BFN
Cad

Hi Cad. Thanks very much for your reply. The Remote Control in the control panel is very useful. But after reading through the Appendix A of the mAirList Manual, I am still wondering how can I, for example, “click” the “Events” button in the menu and open the Event Scheduler window? Should I use the BROWSER Commands or something else?

I was not aware that there is a blind-friendly version for mAirList. Where could I find it, I mean the trial version? Many thanks.